Some unlearnings.

I really wish there will be a device that enables us to take a peek into how people think. I don’t need specific details of what they think, just how they think.

In my imagination, it will be something akin to the imagery of how synapses work. You know the animation they make for science classes? That kind.

‘Why even bother?’ you might ask. I admit it might be against the natural law that embraces diversity in thinking, but you know, just for benchmarking sake I’d love to see how people actually think. How someone arrives in a conclusion, how someone conjure up a creative idea, stuff like that. All this time, we’ve only seen the spoken part of how people think, and at best with medical scans we might see some heat map of brain activity. But that’s about it.

This is all because of my realization of what a bundle of mess my thoughts are.

I’m starting to unlearn things. Especially the remnants of my teenage years which features a lot of unstructured learning. Sometimes I love myself for understanding the basics of a lot of things, enabling me to connect with people on a lot of topics. But most of the time I hate my younger self for being so capricious and changes interest on a whim. I have a plethora of interests ranging from rap to archeology, but almost none of them got far.

And I only have basic knowledge of most of things. Again, good for conversation, bad for making money.

It doesn’t stop there. I learn English 98% by myself, and while that might sound cool, but the problem is I skipped a lot of grammar lessons, hiding behind the comforting sentence of “even natives don’t need grammar that much”. To this day, I wish I can hop on a time machine and anonymously beat some sense into my haughty younger self.

And yes, about unlearning things. Good God, there’s so much things I wish to unlearn right now. From the way I perceive things that are mainstream and cool. I wish I stop to think that joining the bandwagon is bad. It is bad if the outcome is bad, but if the outcome or desired result is as desired, why not go for it?

Leave a comment